Building Singapore's Mass Rapid Transit System (MRT)

Singapore has one of the world's best rapid transit systems in the world, comprising of over 216 kilometers of track length and serving an annual average of 1.2 billion people islandwide.

Transport Operators

SMRT Corporation Ltd (SMRT) and SBS Transit (SBS) are the 2 public transport operators which runs the train system in Singapore.

Current Rail Lines - As of 2021

Currently there are 8 rail lines in Singapore. They are :-

Bukit Panjang LRT Line

Public Transport Operator : SMRT

The Bukit Panjang Light Rapid Transit (BPLRT) was launched as the first light rail line in Singapore in 1999. LRT in Bukit PanjangThe fully automated 8km line connects residential estates within Bukit Panjang and Choa Chu Kang to the North-South and Downtown Lines, complementing existing feeder bus services. It is also the first driverless inter-town train feeder service.

To cater for the line's proximity to homes, the trains have special privacy features such as windows that automatically dim.

Having served the residents for 20 years, the BPLRT is currently undergoing a renewal project to upgrade its trains, tracks and signalling system.

Circle Line

Public Transport Operator : SMRT

Building the Circle Line (CCL) was a feat that required innovations in design, engineering and construction. It took place in challenging soil conditions, a maze of underground structures, and under a densely packed surface of roads, expressways and buildings.

Proposals for the line began in the 1990s, and plans for the CCL evolved to:

  • cater to growing public transport demand,
  • distribute commuter traffic away from busy interchanges, and
  • create a greater number of connections and faster journeys.

As its name suggests, the 30-station CCL is a circular rail line linking the North-South, East-West and North East Lines to the city.

Downtown Line

Public Transport Operator : SBS

The Downtown Line (DTL) is Singapore's fifth MRT line and a game changer for public transport in Singapore.

DTL reaches out to residential areas such as Bukit Panjang, Bukit Timah, MacPherson and Bedok Reservoir that were previously not served by the MRT.

Catering to a growing city with growing transport needs, the existing 34 stations on the DTL offer an alternative commuting route, connecting people to the city and making travel within the city centre a breeze.

East West Line

Public Transport Operator : SMRT

Crossing the island from Tuas Link to Pasir Ris, and measuring about 57km, the East-West Line (EWL) is the longest train line in operation in Singapore. It started as part of the North-South Line (NSL) and was expanded southwards towards Outram in 1987.

The 'original' line, ending at Boon Lay MRT station, was completed in 1990. Today, the line will take you from Changi Airport to recreational spots in Pasir Ris or towards the famous food enclaves of Geylang and Tiong Bahru.

A few stops at major interchanges in the city fringe and Central Business District later, the line heads west through the 'school district' of polytechnics and universities at Dover and Clementi before it heads into the sprawling Jurong township and Tuas industrial estate.

In all, there are 35 stations on the EWL, with Jurong East MRT station being one of the busiest rail interchanges/terminal stations on the EW and NS Lines.

North East Line

Public Transport Operator : SBS

Built using the latest technology and engineering techniques of its time, NEL heralded an era of automated and driverless mass rapid transit systems, an enhanced commuter experience and the beginning of our multi-modal, integrated public transport model.

Connecting residential areas in the north-east to Singapore's heritage areas and the city fringe, its development was aimed at serving growing neighbourhoods in these regions. The 20km line has 16 stations, and connects to six interchanges.

North South Line

Public Transport Operator : SMRT

Our extensive MRT system today begun with only five stations on the North-South Line (NSL) connecting Yio Chu Kang to Toa Payoh in 1987. Though it started small, NSL was the first step in Singapore's grand vision of an integrated transport system.

The 27 stations along the 45km line serves a large number of mature residential estates and takes commuters from Jurong East to Marina South Pier. Along its route are eight interchanges that connect the NSL to the East-West Line (EWL), Circle Line (CCL), Downtown Line, North East Line (NEL) and Bukit Panjang LRT.

Sengkang Punggol LRT Line

Public Transport Operator : SBS

The fully driverless Sengkang and Punggol Light Rapid Transit (SPLRT) system serves two of the fastest-growing residential estates in Singapore.

Opened in 2003, the Sengkang LRT connects residents in the area to the town centre, Sengkang MRT station on the North East Line, and the Sengkang bus interchange. The line serves 14 stations across two loops.

The Punggol LRT was opened in 2005. It links commuters from the residential areas to Punggol MRT station on the North East Line and the Punggol bus interchange. The trains run along two loops and currently serve 14 stations.

Both LRT systems were upgraded from one-car to two-car operations in 2016. In the coming years, more of such two-car trains will be added to the SPLRT fleet to better serve the long term public transport needs of the communities in Sengkang and Punggol. To accomodate more two-car trains, the SPLRT depot will be expanded by 2027.

Thomson East Coast Line

Public Transport Operator : SMRT

With the opening of the Thomson-East Coast Line 2 (TEL2), about 100,000 households will be within a 10-minute walk from a station along TEL1 or TEL2. This allows them to enjoy time savings of up to 50 per cent when travelling via these stations.

TEL2 features six stations - Springleaf, Lentor, Mayflower, Bright Hill, Upper Thomson and Caldecott and it opened for service on 28 August 2021. This connects TEL1 stations - Woodlands North, Woodlands and Woodlands South which was opened on 31 Jan 2020 to the Circle Line via Caldecott Station.

When completed, the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL), our 6th MRT Line, will provide more alternative travel routes for residents living in the eastern region of Singapore and along the North-South Corridor.

Singapore MRT Photo Gallery

Browse through the photo gallery above showing some of Singapore MRT's underground and above ground stations, railway tracks, interior of train cabin and train exterior as well.

MRT Map As of Oct 2021

Circle Line  East West Line  Downtown Line  North South Line  Thomson East Coast Line 

North East Line  Bukit Panjang Line  Sengkang Punggol Line 

Click on the map image above to view full size.

Let's keep in touch

If you have any enquiry or feedback with regards to the MRT travel guide above, please do not hesitate to contact us using the form below.

Looking For Other Travel Guide?

If you are looking for other Singapore Public Transport Travel Guide such as MRT Station, LRT, Train, Subway or Bus, you can search for it from our website or you can drop us an enquiry and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Any feedback will also be much appreciated.